



By E-mail: Two Pages

2018-02

March 15, 2018

BCPSEA Bylaws Approved; Board of Directors Reinstated

Further to *NewsLink Express* No. 2018-01 dated January 31, 2018, we are pleased to advise that we are now in receipt of confirmation from the Minister of Finance and the Public Sector Employers' Council (PSEC) Secretariat that the BCPSEA Constitution and Bylaws have been approved by the Minister of Finance, leading to the reinstatement of the BCPSEA Board of Directors effective today, March 15, 2018.

Given the adoption by the members of the amendments to the BCPSEA bylaws at the BCPSEA annual general meeting on January 25, BCPSEA proceeded to work with the PSEC Secretariat on the process to formally bring into effect the revised bylaws, which includes reinstatement of the Board of Directors and trustee representation to the Board.

That process included:

Approval by the Minister of Finance of the revised bylaws adopted by the members

By letter dated February 14, 2018 (received March 15, 2018), the Minister of Finance formally advised of the approval of the BCPSEA <u>Constitution and Bylaws</u>. The Constitution and Bylaws are now in the process of being filed with the Corporate Registry under the *Societies Act*.

Rescission by government of the appointment of the Public Administrator

By letter from the Minister of Finance and Order in Council No. 120 dated March 14, 2018, the appointment of Michael Marchbank as BCPSEA Public Administrator was rescinded by the provincial government.

Appointment of four government members to the Board of Directors

By <u>letter dated March 15</u>, the PSEC Secretariat has advised that the following individuals have been appointed to serve as government directors on the BCPSEA Board:

Scott MacDonald, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Education Christina Zacharuk, President and CEO, PSEC Secretariat Michael Marchbank, CEO, Fraser Health Authority Keith Godin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Education

Confirmation of the BCPSEA trustee directors elected at AGM 2018

The trustee Directors to the BCPSEA Board, elected on a regional basis by the members at the BCPSEA AGM on January 26, 2018, take office effective today, March 15:

Kootenay Boundary Region

Rebecca Huscroft, School District No. 8 (Kootenay Lake)

Fax: 604.730.0787

NewsLink Express Page 2

Northern Interior Region

Jaret Thompson, School District No. 60 (Peace River North)

Metro Region

Terry Allen, School District No. 36 (Surrey)

Fraser Valley Region

Shirley Wilson, School District No. 34 (Abbotsford)

Northwest Region

Terri-Lynne Huddlestone, School District No. 52 (Prince Rupert)

Thompson Okanagan Region

Alan Chell, School District No. 19 (Revelstoke)

Vancouver Island/Coastal Region

Eve Flynn, School District No. 69 (Qualicum)

First Meeting of the Reinstated BCPSEA Board of Directors

BCPSEA staff are now working with the Board to schedule a date for their first meeting.

At that meeting, in accordance with the BCPSEA bylaws:

- the Directors will nominate one of the current Directors to serve as Chair, or an individual to be appointed as an additional Director and Chair
- the Directors will elect from the nominees the individual to serve as Chair and the Minister must confirm the election or,
 - the Minister will appoint one of the current Directors as Chair, or
 - the Minister will appoint an individual as an additional Director and Chair.
- The confirmation or appointment of the Chair shall be effective on notice from the Minister being received by the Association.
- The Board will also elect a Vice-Chair from among the Directors.

BCPSEA will continue to update boards of education in this regard.

Questions

If you have any questions, please contact Kristi Furtney, Administration Coordinator, 604 730 4508, kristif@bcpsea.bc.ca; Deborah Stewart, Executive Director, Corporate Services and Communications, 604 730 4506, deborahs@bcpsea.bc.ca; or Renzo Del Negro, CEO, 604 730 4511, renzod@bcpsea.bc.ca.